StanCon 2018 Helsinki, 29-31 Aug 2018

StanCon 2018 Helsinki, 29-31 Aug 2018

One day of tutorials and two days of talks, open discussions, and statistical modeling in beautiful Helsinki, Finland.

August 29-31, 2018   •   Aalto University, Helsinki, Finland

(c) Visit Helsinki / Jussi Hellsten.


Aalto University, Töölö Campus, Runeberginkatu 14-16, Helsinki, Finland

StanCon 2018 Helsinki will take place at Aalto University Töölö Campus in the proximity of Helsinki city centre.

Finland and Helsinki Travel Information

Important Dates

Here are the important dates for StanCon 2018 Helsinki.

Deadline What
Apr 16, 2018 Contributed talks submissions
May 16, 2018 Contributed talks acceptance notifications
May 31, 2018 Early registration ends
(Registration prices increase by 50%)
July 31, 2018 Registration ends
(No additional registrations for StanCon after this point)
July 31, 2018 Poster submissions
Aug 29, 2018 Stan tutorials
Aug 30-31, 2018 Stan Conference!!!

Call for contributed talks

Contributed talks

Submissions should be sent by April 16, 2018 5:00:00 AM GMT to

StanCon’s version of conference proceedings is a collection of contributed talks based on interactive, self-contained notebooks (e.g., knitr, R Markdown, Jupyter, etc.). For example, you might demonstrate a novel modeling technique, or (possibly simplified version of) a novel application, etc. There is no minimum or maximum length and anyone using Stan is welcome to submit a contributed talk.

More details are available on the StanCon submissions web page and examples of accepted submissions from are available in our stancon_talks repository on GitHub.

Contributed posters

We will accept poster submissions on a rolling basis until July 31st. One page exclusive of references is the desired format but anything that gives us enough information to make a decision is fine. We will accept/reject within 48 hours. Send to

Registration Information

Early Registration (ends May 31)

Student Academic Industry
EUR 100 EUR 200 EUR 300

Regular Registration

Student Academic Industry
EUR 150 EUR 300 EUR 450


Student Academic Industry
EUR 20 EUR 100 EUR 150

Details on registration and payments

If you have questions regarding registration, payments, travel, please email


Please make your hotel reservation directly to the hotels. We have arranged some deals with hotels and provide a list of some recommended hotels near the venue.

Speakers and Schedule

Invited speakers!




Conference dinner will be on Thursday evening (included in the registration fee).


Pre-conference tutorials are organized 29th August 2018 (probably at Aalto Otaniemi campus 13mins from Helsinki city center). Planned tutorial sessions are

  • Basics of Bayesian inference and Stan (half day), Jonah Gabry
  • Hierarchical models (half day), Ben Goodrich
  • Stan C++ development (half day), Bob Carpenter, Sean Talts / Mitzi Morris
  • Model assessment and selection (1.5 hours), Aki Vehtari
  • Productization of Stan (1 hour)
  • Ordinal differential equation (ODE) models in Stan, Daniel Lee
  • TBA

The tutorials vary from full day to 1 hours (the above times are subject to change) and there will be at least two parallel sessions. For planning purposes we will ask your preferences, but that choice is not binding.

Code of Conduct

In order to facilitate a welcoming environment for all attendees, StanCon 2018 will enforce a code of conduct.


Generous contributions of our sponsors will ensure that our registration costs are kept as low as possible and allow for us to subsidize attendance for students who would otherwise be unable to come.

If you’re interested in sponsoring StanCon 2018 Helsinki, please reach out to

StanCon 2018 Helsinki Organizing Committee

If you have questions regarding registration, payments, travel, please email

For other questions regarding StanCon Helsinki, please email us at

StanCon is organized by a volunteer community

  • Aki Vehtari (Aalto University)
  • Breck Baldwin (Columbia University)
  • Jonah Gabry (Columbia University)
  • Ben Goodrich (Columbia University)
  • Lauren Kennedy (Columbia University)
  • Daniel Lee (Generable)
  • Michael Betancourt (Symplectomorphic)

Local organization committee

  • Eero Siivola (Aalto University)
  • Juho Piironen (Aalto University)
  • Topi Paananen (Aalto University)
  • Tuomas Sivula (Aalto University)
  • Michael Riis Andersen (Aalto University)
  • Akash Dhaka (Aalto University)
  • Shrikanth Gadicherla (Aalto University)